Daily Archives: 27 April, 2013

THIS GIRL by COLLEEN HOOVER – REVIEW

THE SLAMMED SERIES by COLLEEN HOOVER

slammedseriescovers

Purchase below

SLAMMEDAMAZON US || AMAZON UK 
POINT OF RETREATAMAZON US || AMAZON UK 
THIS GIRL NovellaAMAZON US || AMAZON UK 


This Girl

 SYNOPSIS
There are two sides to every love story. Now hear Will’s.
Colleen Hoover’s New York Times bestselling Slammed series has brought countless readers to their knees with a whirlwind of love, passion, and heartache. Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.
In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from his point of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

This Girl Collage

THIS GIRL

Our thoughts by Jenny & Gitte

This is a review with a difference so we hope you’ll bear with us.

We were going to discuss the contents of this book but scrapped that idea because…well, it’s Colleen Hoover so you know it’s well written.  Most of you already know Will and Layken and all the other characters from the Slammed Series (if you don’t then pick this series up now!) so you know you’re going to love them and you know from this authors writing style that this book is going to have heart….and lots of it.

And let’s face it, we know you guys would rather read the book for yourselves than have us tell you about it.

So instead, we’re going to talk about what this book meant to us.

We loved Slammed and Point of Retreat with all our hearts. What we didn’t realise until reading This Girl was how much we genuinely missed all these characters.

Sure, we knew what an impact these characters had had on us and how much they had become a part of our lives but being reunited with them again after a year was like meeting up with old friends and every minute spent in This Girl took us back to that moment when we read Slammed and Point of Retreat.  You know the one? That “moment” we refer to at TB as “Book Love”. That special feeling you get when you’ve just experienced a story so beautiful, characters so enchanting and writing so magical that you feel it deep down in your bones and you know, without a doubt, it’s going to stay with you forever.

There are moments in life you can recall in a heartbeat.  The ones where you’re transported back in time to a moment you want to relive because it left a mark on you. It made you happy and it brought warmth to your soul. It was so special you wanted to tuck it away in your heart and bring it out at a time when you needed to put that smile back on your face.

Well, the Slammed Series was that for us. We can recall every moment, every second of how we felt and the warm feeling those books brought to us when we were reading them. They will stay with us for life, of that we’re sure.

So, knowing we were going back to that was always going to feel special.

But we won’t lie to you.  There was a certain amount of trepidation going into this for us. Was this going to simply be a retelling of Slammed? Was it just Slammed told from Will’s POV? Were we going to get bored and skim? After all, we know the story of Slammed already and we had previously heard Will’s voice in Point of Retreat so we knew what to expect from him.  Yes readers, we were worried.  We wanted to love it, but dreaded the possibility that maybe we wouldn’t.

We’re delighted to say all our fears were allayed about one chapter in.  We were back! That same warm, wonderful feeling was back and we were once again basking in book love glow!

First off, we’re not going to refer to This Girl as  “Slammed from Will’s POV” because for us that is too simple a term for how wonderful and beautiful this book was.  We consider This Girl to be an “extension” of the series. A must have for fans of Slammed and Point of Retreat.  It really does offer THAT much!

Sure, technically it is Slammed told by Will but readers it is so, so much more.  We get new perspectives, new moments, new emotions and completely new scenes both current and past. This story is told in a back and forth composition which is so perfectly executed, so precisely timed that the reader is taken on a journey through Will’s eyes that will leave you spellbound in its beauty and telling. The epilogue is something book lovers dream about and being that we are both readers first and reviewer/bloggers second,  we can tell you that this book completely captivated us and it’s the thing book memories are made of.

So, how much did we love This Girl? Let us tell you this.  Ask us in a year…hell…no! Ask us in five years what we were doing at the time and how we felt whilst reading This Girl and we know, with absolute certainty that we’ll be able to tell you because this book left a mark on us to the point where we will be able to recall every emotion and every minute of how we felt whilst immersed in this story.  Throw listening to I And Love And You by the Avett Brothers into the mix and we’ll be right back to April 2013 in the blink of an eye.

Colleen Hoover has the ability to write about moments and turn them into memories.

So, don’t hesitate. Pick it up. Devour it, and then be sure to share that memory with someone else, because after all, memories are better when shared.

 

5 Absolutely beautiful stars by J&G

ARC supplied by author for an honest review

 

738 Comments

Filed under 5 Stars, Colleen Hoover, Our Reviewers, Pick an Author, Reviews by Gitte, Reviews by Jenny